Thursday, January 7, 2010


On the 10th anniversary of its partnership with the Rotterdam International Film Festival’s CineMart & Rotterdam Lab, IFP is pleased to announce its 2010 IFP/Rotterdam Lab Fellowship recipients, Jason Orans and Thomas Woodrow.

As the Rotterdam Lab’s exclusive U.S. partner organization, IFP annually selects and sponsors two emerging producers to participate in the Lab’s prestigious four-day training workshop. Running concurrently with the CineMart Co-production Market held January 30-February 3, 2010, the Lab is specifically is designed to build up the international networks and experiences of its participants.

Jason Orans’ feature film producing credits include NIGHT CATCHES US (Sundance Dramatic Competition 2010), starring Anthony Mackie, Kerry Washington and Wendell Pierce; DARE (Sundance Dramatic Competition 2009), starring Emmy Rossum and Alan Cumming and GOODBYE SOLO (Venice 2008 - FIPRSCI International Critics Prize), written and directed by Ramin Bahrani. His upcoming projects include UNTILTLED RAMIN BAHRANI PROJECT.

Thomas Woodrow’s feature film credits include BASS ACKWARDS (Sundance NEXT 2010), directed by Linas Philips; TRUE ADOLESCENTS, starring Mark Duplass and Melissa Leo, and SHADOWS, directed by Milcho Manchevski, which was the highest grossing theatrical release ever in its home country, Macedonia. His upcoming projects include Craig Johnson & Mark Heyman’s THE SKELETON TWINS.

“Applications to this Fellowship were up an astounding 90% from previous years. This shows that in our current economic climate, there is a real hunger for independent producers at all budget levels to expand their networks beyond the U.S. marketplace” says Amy Dotson, Deputy Director of IFP. “Through this initiative, as well as thorough Cinemart’s yearly participation in IFP’s No Borders International Co-Production Market, we are proud to partner with Rotterdam to continue to help provide vital opportunities for talented U.S. and international producers to collaborate.”

Previous Fellows have included Paul Mezey (MARIA FULL OF GRACE), Howard Gertler (SHORTBUS), Effie Brown (ROCKET SCIENCE), Mynette Louis (MUTUAL APPRECIATION) and Anish Savjani (WENDY & LUCY).

No comments:

Post a Comment